Hightailing it across the desert…

June 19, 2010

After leaving Joshua Tree, the only other town you go through (about 15 miles down the road) is Twentynine Palms.  After that it is a 1oo mile stretch until any water or services are available.  I figured I’d load up with as much water as I could,  ride from 4 to 10pm and finish the other half in the morning.  As the night would have it, I was feeling super energetic after covering the first 60 miles.  I understood that the more I rode at night, the less I would have to do during the heat of the day.  Normally, I don’t like riding at night because I miss out on seeing too much, but this night I made an exception.  What is a girl supposed to do, all hopped up on Snickers on a Friday night? I decided to keep on it (at no point did I feel unsafe on the road, otherwise I would have stopped and bedded down for the evening) and ended up riding the 126 miles to Parker, AZ over the course of the next few hours.  It was really not my plan, and I have never in my life tried to ride that much.  I don’t want to take too much credit, as I had a fantastic tailwind and it was downhill if anything.  I was very happy to get that stretch over with.  It was quite awesome to pull up to the Colorado at 1:30 in the morning, knowing I could make a splash in it as soon as the sun came up.

These guys hooked me up with a sandwich and all the water I would need to get across the desert stretch...

There you have it...

Desertscape...

Capturing what it feels like catching a glorious tailwind...

Tom, another biker I ran into going the other way that evening right outside Vidal Junction. He had the same idea of escaping the heat and sun...

I need a Tshirt that reads "I rode 126 miles through the dark and all I got was this boring photo"...

Sweet, sweet Colorado river. I spent the morning catching up in the journal and taking dips in the water.

The bike and I sharing PBR's by the river. Unbelievably, I was feeling pretty good after one. The bike on the other hand, let hers get too warm and I had to pour it out. These long bike days sure seem to be having an effect on me...

Leave a Reply

