Joshua Tree…

June 19, 2010

Joshua Tree proved to be as breath-taking as I had anticipated and I ended up hanging around for an extra day exploring.  While there I met up with Deb (who will be taking her own exciting world tour adventure in a month or so), who kindly wrote a very nice article on me.  Most of my time was spent exploring canyon washes, taking photos and conversing with the only other folks I ran into the whole time on the East side of the park, Robert and Maria.  They had come from the Netherlands, with Robert utilizing the desert for his vision quest trainings.  He guides them back in the Netherlands.  Here are some photos from the park…

After two weeks of riding, I made it to my first "official" destination...

Pencil cacti. Yowwwch.....

More cacti...

Bike track crossing a snake track. Clearly I was not the only one who thought my camp spot that night was the best one...

One of the many rock piles in Joshua Tree...

View from the campsite, complete with yucca yucca yuccas...

On the way to the hike...

Some of my favorites...

Winding up into the wash. This hike was incredible. I did not see anyone along the way, just me and the butterflies the whole day.

I had seen this cave earlier in the day and made sure I had my stuff together later in the day to go back and find it so I could sleep in it. Great night's sleep!

The oasis..

These desert wonders are caused by one or more springs that are located right under the sand. Vegetation will usually grow lush in this area and you may even see some amphibians...

 

...which I amazingly did here. If you look closely you can see what looks to be a gila monster/lizzard thing (UPDATE: thanks to Deb, I have been informed that this lizard is called a chuckwalla). He posed quickly, before scampering down underneath some rocks.

One Response to “Joshua Tree…”

  1. Debz said

    Whatchya got there is a chuckwalla (the lizard). Cool, eh?

    Gorgeous pics! Fantastic to meet you – have a BLAST on your trip!!

Leave a Reply

