Kindness in Yucca Valley…

June 19, 2010

The days were getting hotter and hotter as I made my way through Palmdale.  It was here that I got my first sight of some Joshua Trees and a very encouraging “Joshua Tree? Well, you’re almost there” from the electrical man I stopped to asked directions from after getting turned around a bit.  Joshua Tree had been on my mind since day 1 of planning this adventure.  I had heard so much about it and had always wanted to visit it.  It was also meant the first “leg” of my journey (in my mind) would be accomplished.  I planned to take a few days off to explore the park once I had arrived.

On my way, as I was planning my attack on a midday dirt nap, I was stopped by a man waving me down in a Hawaiian shirt.  He introduced himself as a cyclist with a guest house set up for travellers down the way.  As I was pretty set on making it to Joshua Tree that night, I declined his offer to stay but thought it might be nice to take my rest in the shade there for a while.  Upon arriving, I decided Joshua Tree could definitely wait (I also learned it was only 8 miles away) until the next day.  The set up was fantastic!  I enjoyed a shower, bed and all sorts of reading material left specifically for cyclists.  There was a guest book too, filled with travellers who had stayed before, some whose blogs I had read over and over throughout the course of this year and my research.  It was nice to get in some long overdue yoga as well.

As I was perusing the cabin, I came across some articles written about my host, Rev. Craig Walker.  He is quite a miracle!  After months and months of radiation from cancer, he vowed to start cycle touring when he was better.  He has travelled all over the world and has been an inspiration to many, including myself.  Thank you so much again Craig for the wonderfully relaxing place to stay!

Getting closer...

Sometimes...

Tony, another gifter of some fresh produce to keep me going...

Just in case...

Happy in the middle of a hot stretch...

Craig

View from the bungalow...

So cozy...

As I unexpectedly took this afternoon off, it allowed me great time to walk around as the sun went down and photo things on Craig's property.

Inanimate object number one...

Inanimate object number two...

Self portrait...

Desert flower (currently unidentified by me)...

Day's end...

Leave a Reply

