Good news to report everytime I come up for air…

September 5, 2010

Having tackled the canyon, we set our sites on a string of lakes dotting our map.  This meant we’d officially be leaving the state of Chihuahua behind and entering the state of Durango.  The riding was mellow and a mixture of both road and dirt.  It was during these days that we started to drop ever so slowly out of the Sierra Madre, winding down through beautiful valleys filled with acres and acres of crops.  It felt quite productive and rewarding to get some 60-70 mile days in again, looking at the map after the days’ ends and seeing big chunks accomplished toward our next destinations.

The electric colors of things mixed with chipping paint gets me every time...

Time for some pedal maintenance...

Sprinkle pancakes never get old. So heady, I know...

The Sierra Madre. A beauty you pay for with your calves and thighs...

You may be wondering what kind of things would puncture a Schwable Marathon Extreme tire and tube loaded with slime. I will inform you it is spikes such as these...

We needed some electrical tape. They had it. Case closed...

A military check point as we enter the state of Durango. I snuck this one photo in before they caught me. The military is not very photogenic...

I love riding through farmland. 1) it's beautiful and 2) the tractors make everything nice and flat...

He was going to whiten his teeth, but he just got a tan instead. (RIP Mitch H.)...

"Anywhere but here, please. I've been in this field my whole life. I'm ready for a change. Please take me with you."...

Not as good as my friend Dave's, but spoon smushed humus is made with lots of dedication and love and provides an excellent change of tortilla filling...

Leave a Reply

