Prolonging pedal life…

December 1, 2010

Slowly but surely, there was a little click that sprang up in my right pedal as it went round and round.  Rather than replace them, which I’m sure Shimano would have wanted me to do,  Kurt showed me how to remove the bearings, clean them of the old grease and put some fresh grease in there.   The pedals are Shimano M324 half clipless/half platforms.  I love tedious projects, and as this one was quite fun and rewarding to do, I thought I’d share it with you…

 

After taking off the pedal cage, we removed the old bearings to find them covered in dirty grease and grit, the cause of a repetitive clacking while I pedaled...

They were polished clean again and kept a good watch on so they wouldn't roll away...

Kurt packed new grease into one side and I carefully pressed the clean bearings into place...

The same was done on the pedal spindle. As one of the bearing cups was too deep in the pedal to reach by fingers and arrange them properly in place...

...the trick was to put the bearings in the grease first, before slowly sliding the spindle in to the other pedal side and tightening it down down. No more clacking...

Leave a Reply

